Unlike Earl’s Court, Barons Court’s name has no connections with the law. It probably derives from the Baronscourt estate in Ireland, where Sir William Palliser, who built the entire area, had connections.
In the mid-19th century, parliament ruled that the borough of Hammersmith must provide a burial ground, since it was considered unsanitary to have cemeteries within central London. In 1866, ten acres of land were purchased around Hammersmith, costing £600 an acre. The Margravine Cemetery is now a haven of flora and fauna and tells a fascinating history.
Near to Barons Court is the Queen’s Club, the world’s first multipurpose sports complex.
Artworks are currently installed at the following stations